Kundenberichte, News und Angebote.

08.01.2018
A universitiy is moving

The world’s knowledge is no small thing. Certainly not when it’s being moved together with an entire business school. Superb relocation logistics are needed to move over 1,000 cubic meters of items and materials, including 30,000 books, 1,000 meters of files, and 150 meters of shelving units.
Relocation-UniversityFFM-building
The Frankfurt School of Finance & Management moved into its new campus in the North End of Frankfurt

A lot came together when the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management (FS) moved into its new campus in the North End of Frankfurt in the beginning of November. For the relocation experts from DACHSER & KOLB it meant packing up this entire body of knowledge and unpacking it again. “We accomplished the feat of moving the Frankfurt School without interrupting its operations. That was a major challenge,” explains Volker Bandorf, business relocation manager at DACHSER & KOLB. At its busiest moments, the relocation firm was 40 strong and assisted by three specially designed air suspension trucks.

Transporting items from Point A to Point B is only one side of the equation in such project logistics. DACHSER & KOLB was awarded the contract to relocate the internationally renowned business school way back at the start of the year. “We impressed the client by presenting a well-conceived and cost-effective project plan,” explains Hans-Joachim Centner, sales manager at DACHSER & KOLB in Frankfurt. Such a big move takes a lot of work. For instance, cataloging the items and creating relocation guidelines. “You could say it’s the heart of any move,” says Centner. Tasks include drafting a precise schedule for when to dismantle and assemble the filing cabinets and shelving units and where to place all the boxes. And one task that should not be overlooked is how to divide up responsibilities between client and contractor. After all, it has to be clearly understood what each employee needs to pack and when and where the experts from DACHSER & KOLB will step in. With the Frankfurt School, university employees only had to worry about their personal effects.

Securing the bits and bytes

Because knowledge is no longer confined to books at today’s universities, relocating IT operations is especially important in any commercial move. “We had to disassemble 500 workstations, uninstall computers, pack them into PC carts, and reassemble them in the new building. We dedicated twelve employees to this task alone, working a full two days and making sure the equipment was ready to operate,” says Bandorf. Sensitive HR and works council files also had to be safeguarded against unauthorized access.

And then there was the issue of security. Because the semester was already underway during the move, all DACHSER & KOLB employees had to be registered with the Frankfurt School. Special permits were needed to open automatic doors that require chip cards. Workers placed barriers and strips of tape wherever the furniture movers were transporting heavy boxes to prevent injury to university employees or students. “Whenever you move unwieldy items around in a building, there’s always the risk that someone will get hurt unless you take the necessary precautions,” explains the relocation manager.

No scratches or stains

Next to people, protecting the building is the next most important thing. So DACHSER & KOLB put protective film and fleece lining on the walls and floors. They hung protective curtains in the elevators to prevent scratches and stains.

The move in Frankfurt employed a rolling system from start to finish. At the source location a DACHSER & KOLB team packed up the items, and at the destination a second team unpacked them. A project manager in each location directed the team and coordinated trips made by the three trucks. An obvious precaution was to establish the loading and unloading zones and mark them with no-stopping signs.

All done! In the end, DACHSER & KOLB moved 2,300 boxes for the university, while turning almost 38,000 square meters of empty rooms into a fully furnished, fully functioning workspace. The company shipped 30,000 books from one library to the other and re-shelved them using to the same system in just two days. In fact, you could write a book about it.

Page 1 of
Relocation-UniversityFFM-building
Relocation-UniversityFFM-team-building
Relocation-UniversityFFM-truck
Relocation-UniversityFFM-truck-unloading
Relocation-UniversityFFM-cardboxes
Relocation-UniversityFFM-allocation
Relocation-UniversityFFM-boxes
Relocation-UniversityFFM-inside
Relocation-UniversityFFM-IT
Relocation-UniversityFFM-library
Relocation-UniversityFFM-team-inside
Copyright © 2018 Dachser & Kolb GmbH & Co. KG . All rights reserved.
http://www.dachser.com/ul/en/Eine-Universitaet-zieht-um_2437.htm
back | top | print

Kundenberichte, News und Angebote.

08.01.2018
Eine Universität zieht um

Das Wissen der Welt ist keine Kleinigkeit. Erst recht nicht, wenn es mit einer ganzen Wirtschaftsuniversität umzieht. Exzellente Umzugslogistik ist gefragt, wenn über 1.000 Kubikmeter Umzugsgut, darunter 30.000 Bücher, 1.000 laufende Meter Akten und 150 laufende Meter Hängeregister einen Ortswechsel vollziehen.
Relocation-UniversityFFM-building
Anfang November bezog die Frankfurt School of Finance & Management ihren neuen Campus im Frankfurter Nordend

Es war einiges zusammengekommen, als die Frankfurt School of Finance & Management (Frankfurt School) Anfang November ihren neuen Campus im Frankurter Nordend bezog. Für die Umzugslogistiker von DACHSER & KOLB hieß dies geballtes Wissen in Kisten ein- und wieder auszupacken. „Wir haben den Umzug für die Frankfurt School of Finance & Management bei laufendem Betrieb über die Bühne gebracht. Das war die große Herausforderung“, erklärt Volker Bandorf, Leiter Geschäftsumzug bei DACHSER & KOLB. In der Spitze hatte der Umzugslogistiker bis zu 40 Mann und drei spezielle, luftgefederte Lkw im Einsatz.

Der Transport von A nach B ist bei solcher Projektlogistik nur die eine Seite der Medaille. Bereits Anfang des Jahres hatte DACHSER & KOLB für die Umzugsdurchführung der international renommierten Wirtschaftsuniversität den Zuschlag erhalten. „Wir konnten mit einem durchdachten Projektkonzept und einem guten Preis-Leistungsverhältnis punkten“, rekapituliert Hans-Joachim Centner, Leiter Vertrieb Frankfurt bei DACHSER & KOLB. Solch ein Großumzug hat es in sich. Da hieß es vor Ort die Massen aufzunehmen und einen Umzugsleitfaden zu erstellen. „Das ist quasi das Herz eines jeden Umzugs“, erklärt Centner. Darin werden zum Beispiel exakt die zeitlichen Abläufe des Auf- und Abbaus der Aktenregale, der Hängeregister und die Standorte der Umzugskartons festgelegt. Nicht zu vergessen: Die Aufgabenverteilung zwischen Auftraggeber und Auftragnehmer. Denn es muss klar sein, was jeder Mitarbeiter einzupacken hat und wann und wo die Umzugsexperten von DACHSER & KOLB ins Spiel kommen. Im Fall der Frankfurt School mussten sich die Uni-Mitarbeiter lediglich um ihre persönlichen Gegenstände kümmern.

Auch Bits & Bytes sicher verstauen

Weil an einer Uni heutzutage das Wissen nicht mehr nur aus Büchern gezogen wird, kommt dem Umzug der IT wie bei jedem Geschäftsumzug eine besondere Bedeutung zu. „Wir mussten 500 Arbeitsplätze abbauen, Computer deinstallieren, in entsprechende PC-Wannen packen und im neuen Gebäude wieder betriebsbereit aufbauen. Alleine damit waren zwölf Mitarbeiter zwei Tage lang beschäftigt“, berichtet Volker Bandorf. Außerdem mussten sensible Akten aus der Personalabteilung und des Betriebsrats so verpackt werden, dass sie vor dem Zugriff Dritter sicher waren.

Und dann war da auch noch das Thema Sicherheit. Da das Semester zur Umzugszeit bereits begonnen hatte, mussten alle Mitarbeiter von DACHSER & KOLB bei der Frankfurt School angemeldet werden. Für Bereiche mit automatischen Türen, die sich nur mit Chipkarten öffnen ließen, galt es, entsprechende Sondergenehmigungen einzuholen. Dort wo die Möbelpacker unterwegs waren, kamen Absperrungen mit Bändern zum Einsatz, damit keine Uni-Mitarbeiter oder Studierende beim Transport von schweren Kisten zu Schaden kommen konnten. „Wenn man mit sperrigen Gütern in einem Gebäude unterwegs ist, besteht die Gefahr, dass eine Person verletzt wird, wenn man nicht die notwendigen Vorsichtsmaßnahmen ergreift“, gibt der Umzugsmanager zu bedenken.

Ohne Kratzer und Flecken

Neben Personen ist selbstverständlich auch das Gebäude zu schützen: An Wänden und auf Böden verlegte DACHSER & KOLB daher entsprechende Schutzfolien und Bodenvlies. Die Aufzüge wurden mit Schutzvorhängen verkleidet, um Kratzer und Flecken zu vermeiden.

Der gesamte Umzug in Frankfurt verlief nach einem rollierenden System. An der Quellfläche packte ein DACHSER & KOLB-Team ein, an der Zielfläche ein anderes aus. An beiden Standorten war jeweils ein Projektmanager für das Team verantwortlich und steuerte den Pendelverkehr der drei Lkw. Klar, dass dazu im Vorfeld auch die Be- und Entladezonen festgelegt und mit entsprechenden Halteverbotsschildern gekennzeichnet worden waren.

Geschafft! Am Ende hatte DACHSER & KOLB mit der Uni 2.300 Kartons bewegt und fast 38.000 Quadratmeter Geschossfläche voll funktionsfähig eingerichtet. Innerhalb von zwei Tagen wurden 30.000 Bücher von einer Bibliothek in die andere verfrachtet und dort nach demselben System wieder eingeräumt. Allein darüber ließe sich schon wieder ein weiteres Buch schreiben.

1 /
Relocation-UniversityFFM-building
Relocation-UniversityFFM-team-building
Relocation-UniversityFFM-truck
Relocation-UniversityFFM-truck-unloading
Relocation-UniversityFFM-cardboxes
Relocation-UniversityFFM-allocation
Relocation-UniversityFFM-boxes
Relocation-UniversityFFM-inside
Relocation-UniversityFFM-IT
Relocation-UniversityFFM-library
Relocation-UniversityFFM-team-inside
Copyright © 2018 Dachser & Kolb GmbH & Co. KG . All rights reserved.
http://www.dachser.com/ul/de/Eine-Universitaet-zieht-um_2437.htm